About Sera Monastery

The Sera Monastery is the representative monastery of the Gelugpa of Tibetan Buddhism. It lies on the southern slope of the Sera Woze Mountain.  Northern suburbs of Lhasa. The monastery was built by Shakya Yeshi. He is one of the main disciples of Tsongkhapa.  was the founder of the Gelugpa school of Tibetan Buddhism. It is one of the six main monasteries of the Gelugpa sect of Tibetan Buddhism. As one of the three main monasteries of Lhasa. by the name itself, Some people believe it means “hailstone”, while others believe it means “raspberry”, the full name of the monastery is “Sera Thekchen-Ling Monastery”. it is here that the monks “famous daily debates” take place.

Location: Northern Lhasa.
Open Hours: 9:00-16:00
Admission Fee: RMB¥50


The full name of Sera Monastery is “Sera Thekchen-Ling Monastery”. There are two legends about the origin of the name. One is that it was hailing when the monastery built its basement, hailstone pronounces “sera” in the Tibetan language, so when the monastery was built, it was named “Sera Monastery”; another legend is that the monastery was surrounded by a grove of rose trees, and rose also pronounces “sera” in the Tibetan language, so Sera Monastery means “the rose monastery” in the Tibetan language.

The Sera Monastery was built by Sagya Yexei who was the devoted disciple of Tsongkhapa in 1419. On behalf of his master, SagyaYexei went to Nanjing to pay homage to the Ming Dynasty Yongle Emperor, who granted him the honorific title “Western Paradise Buddha Grand State Tutor”, and a large number of sutras, Buddhist statues, monks robes, silks, gold and silver, which were used to build Sera Monastery.

Central of Economic, Religion and Culture

Xining Lhasa Train Tour

7 Days

Holy Lhasa

4 Days

Holy City Lhasa Tour

4 Days
1 Response

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Popular Tour

Tibetan Tour and Travel Agency
+86 136 1898 2405