Tibet Attractions

When people talk about Tibet attractions, we obviously think about Tibet itself. There are also several areas in other provinces of China where Tibetan people reside. Tibetan people all over the china share the same language, culture and enjoy similar landscapes. There are 3 different Tibetan dialects in the Tibetan language. They are U-Tsang, Amdo and Khampa. U-Tsangg is used in most areas in the plateau west of Lhasa. Amdo is used in Tibetan areas in Qinghai, Gangsu and Sichuan. It is mainly prairie country and famous for its horses. Khampa comes from Western Sichuan, Diqing in Yunnan and the Chamdo area of Tibet. It is known for its valiant men and charming women.

Regions and Cities in TAR:

The Autonomous Region is divided into seven prefecture-level divisions: six prefecture-level cities and one prefecture.

These in turn are subdivided into a total of 66 counties and 8 districts (ChengguanDoilungdêqênDagzêSamzhubzêKarubBayiNêdong, and Seni).

Administrative Regions Area in km2 Regional Seat Population District/ County
Lhasa(Lasa) 29538.90 Cheng Guan District 559,423 3 District, 5 County
Shigatse (Rikaze) 182066.26 Samdruptse District 703,292 1 District, 17 County
Shannan (Lhoka)  79287.84 Nedong District 328,990 1 District, 11 County
Nyingchi(Linzhi) 113964.79 Bayi District 195,109 1 District, 6 County
Chamdo (Changdu) 108872.30 Kharub District 657,505 1 District, 10 County
Naqu (Nakchu) 391816.63 Seni District 462,382 1 District, 10 County
Ngari (Ali) 296822.62 Gar (Shiquanhe) 95,465 7 County

Tibetan regions

Tibetan regions include Tibet autonomous region, part of Sichuan, Qinghai, Gansu and Yunnan. All regions have their own unique natural and man made beauties.